The first time you drove a car. What was it like?

It has been 10 years since the drivers ed class.
The written test was easy enough and practical application had its good moments.
I passed the class and got a learner’s permit but i stopped driving after that.
I quit wanting/needing to drive because i was worried that i didn’t have enough concentration to watch the road. I thought my tv addiction would be a problem; thinking about it all the time, or my reflexes wouldn’t be quick enough, or i would overcompensate for that. So I started to let people drive me, rode a bus, or I just chose to walk.

The absolute first time, I was backing out of the driveway in a beat up blue Dodge Ram truck. It was mom’s truck and we were there together. I may have backed up too fast or something, and we both seemed to neglect the environment – which had two kids playing in their driveway right behind us. Nobody got hurt and i was yards away from them, but driving never sat well with me after that.

During my testing class, there was a similar moment. It’s been a while, but i think there was a ball rolling across the street and a kid. I braked easily and far enough away.

i never worked the equipment at a gas station, and i don’t remember testing on a freeway/highway.

pros of letting other people do for me: more sleep time, reading time, ignorance is bliss, cars are expensive, gas/oil industries expensive – wars, health, planet – it’s only by one person but….

I’ll have to start over again. 😦

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kayce Peduto
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 13:15:38

    hey, great blog! love it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

